Home > Linux / Unix, Tutorial > Fix for No Splash in Ubuntu 7.10

Fix for No Splash in Ubuntu 7.10

After installing Ubuntu 7.10 there is no splash screen displayed at startup nor at shutdown. I just get a ‘Signal Out of Range’ message from my monitor.

A program called usplash controls this process, so I looked into it’s configuration, the values were totally off for my monitor, which uses a resolution of 1280 x 800.

By default the file looks like:
$ sudo cat /etc/usplash.conf
# Usplash configuration file
xres=1280
yres=1024

I edited the file:
$ sudo gedit /etc/usplash.conf

I changed the xres to: xres=1080 and the yres to: yres=800. Then I reconfigured the usplash program with the new settings.
$ sudo dpkg-reconfigure usplash

Problem fixed, now the splash image displays both at startup and shutdown.

Categories: Linux / Unix, Tutorial Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

